Ted Talks, Seriously?

As you all know, I am obsessed with trying to figure out how to cross that bridge to success. Today I read a post on SheWrites that said an agent told this particular writer “Get your Ted Talk together and then I’ll think about signing you.” The theory being that even a fictional writer needs to promote themselves as an expert on whatever they write about.megan's 117 I am not an expert on anything other than writing by the seat of my pants. Without a doubt, my most popular book to date has been On a Hot August AfternoonThis is a book that deals with marriage, (I’ve never been married) possible infidelity, (I’ve never been cheated on) family and trust. Granted I do have a family and I have dealt with trust issues, but in a completely different scenario. I hardly think this makes me an expert on any of it.

I love my family and that is generally a theme throughout all of my books, but I have to admit, I don’t see a Ted Talk about it coming up anytime soon.

About bridgetstraub

Author, Artist & Mom. First novel "Searching for My Wand" was published in December 2011
This entry was posted in My Blogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Ted Talks, Seriously?

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    I agree with the advice. You are an expert on something–maybe many things. You just have to figure out what they are or at least do a credible job of coming across as an expert in something.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

Leave a comment