Setting Goals

f-786-079

Do you set goals? I am one of those people always looking for inspiration and ways to further my career. I sign up for online seminars and newsletters, and then am generally disappointed by the vague suggestions sent my way. Today I received an email telling me of how these two writers made millions of dollars all because they set goals. I set goals all the time!

As is always the case, this less than helpful information was followed up with the suggestion that the way to make this happen for me was to sign up (pay for) a course being offered. I don’t need to pay someone to tell me to set goals, build an email list and promote, promote, promote. I need to reach more people. I know that. I also know that there are some things I’m never going to be comfortable doing. Namely, becoming some kind of internet coach of my own. You see, this is what I have come to realize all of these people have in common; they are like a giant pyramid scheme. They tell you to sign up for so and so’s course and then so and so tells his/her list of contacts to sigh up for yours. There is no new information out there.

I think ultimately success comes with hard work, determination, and a fair amount of luck. My goal is to sell enough books to pay my bills. Anything above and beyond that would be the icing on the cake, and admittedly I do love some good frosting.

fullsizerender-35

With that in mind, remember, books make great gifts not just for friends and family, but for yourself as well. Who doesn’t need an escape right now? On a Hot August Afternoon is a good distraction, as are all of these other books. Why not read them all!

About bridgetstraub

Author, Artist & Mom. First novel "Searching for My Wand" was published in December 2011
This entry was posted in My Blogs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Setting Goals

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    If there were any one magic formula for success that always worked, I think we’d know about it by now. People have been touting their formulas for years and years and much of it is the same advice–stuff which can work to some degree yet is no guarantee of any actual success.

    I wish you well with your goals as well as your dreams.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

Leave a Reply

