About That Girl On a Train…

fullsizerendergirl-on

I realize I have been late to the party. This book has been out for a long time, and been made into a much anticipated film, etc. I’ve been wanting to read it forever and as a fan of Emily Blunt, I’d hoped to do so and then go see the film version. I finished it last night and suffice to say, I won;t be wasting my time going to see the movie.

Spoiler Alert: If you have not read the book and still wish to do so, do not read any further. If you have read the book and enjoyed it, as apparently so many people have, explain to me why? As I see it every single character in the book was deceitful, abusive and unlikable. Are we rooting for the falling down drunk who may or may not do and say horrible things? The victim with the checkered past, to say the least? The husband who was controlling and abused our beloved drunk? The new wife who was a mistress and kind of a bitch? Or the murderer himself who is a pathological liar? The most upstanding citizen in the entire book is the psychiatrist who sleeps with his patient!

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t need every character in a book to be a perfect person, obviously. Just look at the books I’ve written myself. (Seriously, do! Please. They make great holiday gifts!) But I do need to see something that doesn’t always speak to the very worst of society. Why did every single character need to be so flawed? What caught the attention of so many readers? How can I get even a small percentage of this books sales without writing something so unbelievably ugly?

Is it a desperate need to feel better than others that draws people to stories like this? I really wonder. Am I completely overthinking this? Let me know. Did you read it? Did you enjoy it? If so, why?

About bridgetstraub

Author, Artist & Mom. First novel "Searching for My Wand" was published in December 2011
This entry was posted in My Blogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to About That Girl On a Train…

  1. I have not read the book; however it seems to me as if creating these unlikable characters is a way of exploring the different facets of society and understanding how it is that the world is constructed of so much likable and unlikable things.

  2. Arlee Bird says:

    Not sure about this since I’ve neither seen the film nor read the book. Maybe it’s a reflection on how the author views the world. Or maybe to some extent based on Jeremiah 17:9 which states: The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?.

    I know what you’re saying though. It pretty depressing to read a book or see a film with characters who seem to have no redeeming values. I like to be uplifted at least a little bit.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

Leave a Reply

